For our first Winter Walk of the 2018-2019 season, we will set out from the VCS home base at the Wakeman Conservation Center to explore the network of trails around the fields, woods, cranberry ponds and bogs surrounding the Center, as well Duarte Pond and The Nature Conservancy's Hoft Farm.
A Revolutionary History: The 240th Anniversary of Grey’s Raid
The earliest known inhabitants of the area called this place Chickamaug or Chickemoo, an Algonquain reference to the weir fish trapping that once thrived at Onkokemmy Bay - today known as Lambert's Cove.
However, later inhabitants -- European settlers and their descendants - coined the name "Red Coat Hill Road" in response to an unwelcome visit from the Old World. In September of 1778, British General Sir Charles Grey anchored 47 warships containing 4,333 troops off Vineyard Haven harbor. After bringing the troops ashore, and marching his men along an old way running past the residence of local Selectman Shubael Weeks, General Grey seized this high ground west of Tashmoo. All told, 315 head of cattle and 10,574 sheep were expropriated from the island in what would be later known as Grey's Raid.
This year marks the 240th anniversary of Grey’s Raid.
Sunday, November 11, 2018 at 10:00am to 12:00pm
Wakeman Center 57 David Avenue, Vineyard Haven, MA 02568